BILL SUMMARY 2nd Session of the 57th Legislature

Bill No.:	HB 3466
Version:	INT
Request Number:	9469
Author:	Rep. West (Tammy)
Date:	2/23/2020
Impact:	No Impact

Research Analysis

HB 3466, as introduced, modifies the composition of the State Textbook Committee by requiring at least four members of the Committee have Oklahoma Teaching certificates. The measure also requires the State Superintendent of Public Instruction, or a designee, to serve as the Chair of the Committee beginning March 31, 2021, and directs the State Department of Education to provide administrative services to the Committee, including a Secretary.

The measure requires the SDE, in coordination with the Committee, to approve an application process for creating review teams to assist the Committee in reviewing textbooks and instructional materials.

The SDE, in consultation with the Committee, must also adopt a rubric and rating system for evaluating textbooks, to be used by the review teams. The measure lists criteria for the rubric.

The measure directs the review teams to evaluate all materials in accordance with the rubric and rating system, but does not require the Committee to accept the review team's recommended rating. The completed rubric for each evaluated textbook, including the review team's recommendations, shall be made publicly available on the State Textbook Committee website.

HB 3466 requires any local textbook committee wishing to adopt a textbook not reviewed by the Committee to conduct a review in a manner prescribed by the State Board of Education. If a local textbook committee uses state-allocated textbook funds for supplementary textbooks or other instructional materials, the local committee must submit a statement to the local board of education justifying any such selections.

Prepared By: Emily Wendler

Fiscal Analysis

In its current form, it is not anticipated that this measure would result in a significant fiscal impact on the state budget or appropriations.

Prepared By: Cole Stout

Other Considerations

None.

© 2020 Oklahoma House of Representatives, see Copyright Notice at <u>www.okhouse.gov</u>